Musical Cooperation

Turn that s**t off!

“Turn that s**t off!” How many of us heard that as kids living with our parents?Personally, I was never musicallowed to play music when my dad was at home, whether it was listening to the radio or playing the guitar. My father hated hearing my music. Many other parents are the same way. Maybe it’s the generation gap between their age music and their children’s age. Maybe it’s just that adults and their children tend to have different preferences in music. Either way, kids are regularly being told that they shouldn’t play their music in their parents’ homes. While children should respect their parents’ wishes and rules, music is an important creative outlet for any child, not just the ones who plan to go on to play music later in life. In an interview with Musician’s Friend, Vince Gill, a successful country music singer, turn down the music memediscusses the musical dynamic in his home when he was a child. According to Vince, his parents’ support of him was a huge factor in his success as a musician. He was never told to quit trying to be a musician and “find a real job.” He says that parenthood for them was about the happiness of their child. “The purpose of being a good father is raising a happy child.”

Music = Happy Home

As a child, I never had any plans of being a musician, even though I was learning to play guitar, but music old guy turn down th music memewas still important to me. When I was sad or angry, I wanted to either play music to help me get over it or to just sit around and mope for awhile with sappy music playing in the background. When I was doing any kind of work, I played music to help relieve some of the boredom. No matter what I was doing, I wanted there to be a soundtrack. Then my dad would come home and suddenly, there was silence. It drove me up the wall and in a lot of ways, I resented my dad for making me turn off my music. I think a lot of kids in my position were the same way. Think about it. In TV, what is the most common argument you see between teenagers and their parents? Parent: “Will you turn off that noise already?” Teenager: “You never let me do anything!” Then, the teenager slams the door and throws himself/herself onto the bed and the parent sits down at the kitchen table and sighs. Sound familiar?no more music We’ve all been in that place and, unfortunately, it’s not getting better with time. I’m not saying kids should be able to blast loud music all the time, but don’t take their music away completely! Just have them turn it down a little. Maybe even let them blast it for an hour or so.They need something to help them get all their extra energy out. Then maybe they wouldn’t feel the need to blow up on their parents all the time. A little compromise, please?

Leave a comment